softball ontario


Softball Ontario hails Umpire Excellence at 2018 Blue Symposium

Umpires from across the province gathered in Burlington on February 10-11 for the annual Softball Ontario Blue Symposium Weekend! As usual, the event featured daytime information sessions for both Fast Pitch and Slo-Pitch umpires.

Umpire personnel, softball volunteers, and guest speakers gave presentations on umpire-related topics, such as rule changes, concussion protocols, new program updates, and more.

On Saturday evening, the Umpire Awards banquet was held; a night dedicated to commemorating the best Blue Crew in the country. Softball Ontario would like to congratulate the following recipients of the 2017 umpire awards:

Junior Umpire of the Year:
Zakhary Henderson – Zone 7, Toronto

Rookie of the Year:
Fast Pitch: Nathan Lasher – Zone 9, Belleville
Slo-Pitch: Sarah Anderson – Zone 1, Windsor

Home Run Sports Zone Umpire-in-Chief of the Year
Fast Pitch: Justin Van Horn – Zone 1, Chatham
Slo-Pitch: Jeff McKay – Zone 3, Brantford

Doug Cundall Umpire of the Year:
Fast Pitch: Teralyn Coleman – Zone 7, Toronto
Slo-Pitch: Mike Lieff – Zone 8, Stittsville

Jim Bradford Memorial Award
Fast Pitch: Sal Garra – Zone 10, Ottawa
Slo-Pitch: Doug Cundall – Zone 6, Barrie

Thank you to all of the organizers, presenters, volunteers, and attendees who all contributed in making the event such a success. Softball Ontario acknowledges the role that umpires play in the sport, and appreciates the mentorship that they offer to the youth in their communities. Thank you for all of your hard work and dedication.

We will see you at the 2019 Blue Symposium Weekend!